Through the Looking Glass: Week 1

This was written on the 6/11, but as always, I thought I would finish it. At the close of week 2, it stands still, unfinished, so I thought I might as well put it out there for my own sanity (and the sake of checking off a box on my to do list!). 

I am just over one week into my french adventure and I’m having such a ball! They say ‘when in Rome, do as the romans do’, and in France, you just have to eat as the french do, cheese and all.

I think culture is one of the most crucial elements that make up identity, because it creates our perspective. What you live day in and day out is what you come to perceive as normal, and by extension, it can make everything that isn’t your ‘culture’ seem odd. Therefore, I find it fair to say that your culture provide the glasses through which you see the world. There are few experiences where you can take off these glasses, at least partially, and see the world by a different prescription, and for the next few months, I’m having a go of it, I’ve gone on exchange, and I’m seeing life through the looking glass.

I’m staying in a little town in the region of Alsace (which I have come to learn is the best region) called Plobsheim. I’m living as a part of the loveliest family, with two parents, three little sisters, and two cats. I’m eating amazing food for every meal, including but not limited to choucroute, cheese, bread (oh the bread!), croissants, and leftover halloween lollies. I’m starting school on Monday at College St Etienne’s in Strasbourg. I’m having a new adventure everyday, whether a new sight, smell, taste, sound, place, word, experience, feeling or dream. I’m an Australian in France, and (this isn’t product placement) I’m loving it!

A very ugly and whatever summary:

Thurs: Left Australia

Fri: Arrived in France, met Larchet family, went for a walk around Geispolsheim

IMG_0573 2.JPG

Sat: Lunch in the Voges, saw 4 of 7 roses (cathedrals), went mushroom hunting.

Sun: Met Kehrer family, went out for lunch and had potato scallop things, met their cousins and went for a long walk, got beanboozled

Mon: Halloween!!! Had brioche for breakfast, went out for lunch in Strasbourg, ate Sauerkraut (it was amazing!), saw a man playing music on a cool machine in the street, went to Nespresso with parents, had cheeses with dinner, helped sisters get ready for halloween

Tue: Went for awesome bike ride, saw Germany across the Rhine (the picture is the view from my bedroom!)

IMG_0671.jpg

Wed: Saw Dr Strange in French in the cinemas, went to Sephora, tried Maroon Chaud (not the biggest fan!), went Christmas shopping for a tree and decorations

Thur: went for a bike ride and picnic with two older sisters, made dinner with Ambre for everyone, had movie night in my room with Ambre and Ava. Went to the supermarket and saw what I’m pretty sure (but it’s difficult!) translates to Mini Jesus … only the french!

img_0693

Fri: Got card for tram, went out for lunch and had seafood with quinoa scallops, went to Obernai, met two of host mother’s friends.

Sat: Relaxed at home with littlest sister, watched Miss Congeniality 2 with the two older sisters.

Sun: Went to Europa Park and it was amazing! Saw part of the Berlin Wall, went on some awesome rollercoasters, heard lots of different languages.

IMG_0700.jpg

Let’s hope I eventually get more organised!

A Wonderer xx

Leave a comment